Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

I’m going to jump onto the bandwagon! Yes, I’m one of those who read the much-loved Me Before You and ended falling in love with it! I’m not going to spoil anything so I’ll just tell what I had in mind when I read this piece.

I did enjoy the story. Very much.
Although I find the plot itself is a little bit predictable, I can’t help but rooting for Lou, for Will.
I didn’t find this a really tear-jerker as some people said but I do admit that some parts make me cried.
Somehow Will’s condition reminding me of my Mom’s and maybe that’s also why I can really feel sad to the point of shedding tears. Also the relationship journey between Will and Lou, their bantering and support for each other are probably the main reason why this novel turned into a lovable piece.

I don’t know if I want to criticize the characters. They do have flaws but I kind of understand what circumstances they’re in that made the characters into who they are. Some maybe feel that Lou’s character is frustrating enough, but under her circumstances, what she did is pretty admirable. And then for Will.. I don’t know but I really want to cry for him. I know it’s actually really up to him to choose but then I still can’t help to think that he shouldn’t even have to choose that path.

It’s a book that make me choke on my tears when I read the last chapter pages. I wasn’t the type that will cry easily when reading a romance book (but did crying reading a children book) but this one got my heart aching that the tears in my eyes come out easily.

Also this maybe only me but I did imagine Will Traynor as Prince Wilfred A. Spencer (from the famous otoge titled Be My Princess) mainly just because Prince Wilfred’s nick is also Will. HAHAHAHA forgive my otome soul.

Prince Wilfred

Prince Wilfred A. Spencer

but then Sam Claflin is certainly looking more Will Traynor than Wilfred. 😛

Sam Claflin

Sam Claflin

Now that the book is already proved to be read-worthy, please make the movie as worth-seeing too. Judging on its trailer alone I can’t help but wish that June come faster. Ughh that sexy British accent I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

